The IAGOS-CARIBIC Consortium

IAGOS-CARIBIC is a European infrastructure with currently 13 research groups from Germany, France, Ireland and the USA.


Organisation Institutes / Departments Main contacts


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Karlsruhe, Germany



Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK)


Dr. Andreas Zahn
(IAGOS-CARIBIC Coordinator)
Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke
(Management / Director of IMK-ASF)


Max-Planck-Institut für Chemie

Mainz, Germany



Particle Chemistry

Atmospheric Chemistry

Multiphase Chemistry



PD Dr. Johannes Schneider

Prof. Dr. Jonathan Williams (Atmospheric Chemistry)

Dr. Yafang Cheng, Dr. Hang Su (Multiphase Chemistry)




Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research

Leipzig, Germany



Aerosol particle measurement
and interpretation


Dr. Markus Hermann


Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH

Jülich, Germany



Institute of Energy and Climate Research (IEK)

(IEK-8: Troposphere)


IEK-7: Stratosphere



PD Dr. Andreas Petzold

Dr. Ulrich Bundke


Dr. Fred Stroh


Max-Planck-Institut für Biogeochemie

Jena, Germany



Department Biogeochemical Systems


Dr. Christoph Gerbig


Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.

Köln, Germany



Dr. Helmut Ziereis

Dr. Ange Roiger



University College Cork

Cork, Ireland



Environmental Research Institute


Prof. Dr. Andy Ruth


Goethe Universität

Frankfurt am Main, Germany


Institute for Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences


PD Dr. Tanja Schuck


Johannes Gutenberg-Universität

Mainz, Germany



Institute for Atmospheric Physics


Prof. Dr. Peter Hoor

Dr. Heiko Bozem


Université Grenoble Alpes

Grenoble, France



Laboratoire Interdisciplinaire de Physique


Prof. Dr. Erik Kerstel


National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Washington, USA



NOAA Chemical Sciences Laboratory (NOAA CSL)


Dr. Steven S. Brown